My web design journey…

I’ve never written a blog, or anything for that matter – other than assignments or essays or any other work-related emails or letters, or anything other than the normal stuff that non-bloggers write.  So, I’ve grabbed my thesaurus and jumped the non-blogger ship. . .

Why would I write a blog?

I’ve thought about this for a little bit before taking the plunge with this post, and the more I thought about it, the less I wrote, so I’m just going to begin.

I’m always looking through blogs, but rarely read 100% of the article, (please, feel free to scan) so I know that it needs to be a punchy and entertaining, whilst having some sort of theme.  Or maybe I should go down the whole ‘controversial’ route and throw in a lot of anger and some random obscenity at the end.  Whichever the chosen route, these are some substantial requirements for a novice blogger to fulfil.

I’ve looked at who I think my target market is for the blog and narrowed it down to prospective clients and fellow web-workers/peers of the internet.  As I’m going the whole self-taught route, I’m not going to sit here and try and blag my way through a bloated post on advanced computer systems – it wouldn’t wash with the people who know more about that.  I know what I know, and as long as I’ve learned something every time I leave the desk, I’m happy.

My strengths (I think…) lie in marketing and communications, creative solutions and a desire to grow my Coalfield Studio into a genuine competitor.  I’m looking forward to blogging about struggles with PHP and general site design and gaining knowledge, and hopefully readers, as the blog develops.

As far as prospective customers go – I feel that honesty is the best route to take.  I run a very small web develop development service from my home.  I don’t give people the run around, I’m up front and wouldn’t begin a project that I didn’t feel I could complete.  If I was approached for work that I wasn’t ready for, I’d refer it on to someone I thought could do a good job.

Since I started, I’ve struggled to pin down a suitable term for my experiences learning how to code and design websites.  ‘Journey’ is the one that nauseatingly comes to the top of the pile each time I think about it.  At any rate, since I began mine, I’ve been amazed by the quality of the support and help I’ve received ‘on the way’.  Twitter and direct emails aside, I’m excited about the goings-on at DesignForums.co.uk, and the good work done by Tony and Co., and definitely see the forum community growing under their guidance.

I’m looking forward to blogging more now, but know that I have to develop and get better.  I need to start looking through the news for something to have some sort of genuine commentary on, so that people will keep reading.  That’s a little interesting – testing my ability to be interesting.

So if you’re thinking about starting your own blog, I hope that you have found a little inspiration in my waffling.  On the other hand, if I’ve put you off, think how much time I’ve saved you – you owe me thanks (You’re welcome).  If you’re thinking about it, just do it.  They’re only words out of your mind, tapped out with your fingers.  Nothing bad will happen.  Trust me.

Piss.

Leave a Reply

